

SELECTION PANEL

MINUTES

23 MARCH, 25 MARCH AND 8 APRIL 2010

Chairman: * Councillor Paul Osborn

Councillors: * Brian Gate

* Paul Scott

* Mrs Vina Mithani

* Denotes Member present

RESOLVED ITEMS

9. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

10. Terms of Reference

RESOLVED: That the Panel's Terms of Reference be noted.

11. Minutes

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 9 March 2010, be taken as read and signed as a correct record.

Selection Panel - 8 April 2010 - 6 -

12. Exclusion of the Press and Public

RESOLVED: That the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item for the reasons set out below:

<u>ltem</u>	<u>Title</u>	Reason
5.	Appointment of Independent Members to the Standards Committee.	Information under paragraph 1 (contains information relating to any individual).

RECOMMENDED ITEMS

13. Appointment of Independent Members to the Standards Committee

The Selection Panel met on the 23 March 2010, 25 March 2010 and 8 April 2010 to conduct interviews with 8 shortlisted applicants. The interviews consisted of questions being asked by the Panel with an opportunity for the applicant to ask questions at the end.

After careful deliberation and consideration the Panel made a unanimous decision on who should be recommended as Independent Members of the Standards Committee. The Panel also made a recommendation on who should act as a Reserve Independent Member of the Standards Committee.

Resolved to RECOMMEND (to the Standards Committee): That

(1) the appointments of the following as Independent Members until the Annual Council meeting in May 2014, be agreed for further recommendation to Full Council:

Dr John Kirkland Mr Derek John Lawrence Mr Anand Mantri Mr Mohammed Rizvi

(2) the appointment of Mr James Coyle as a Reserve Independent Member until the Annual Council meeting in May 2014, be agreed for further recommendation to Full Council.

(Note: The meeting on 23 March 2010 commenced at 6.30 pm and closed at 7.45 pm. The meeting on 25 March 201 commenced at 6.30pm and closed at 7.55pm. The meeting on 8 April 2010 commenced at 6.30pm and closed at 7.45pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR PAUL OSBORN Chairman

Selection Panel - 8 April 2010 - 7 -